On Monday, March 13, the DHS speech team and coaches learned that judges at Saturday’s Individual Speech State contest selected a record eighteen Decorah performances as outstanding, receiving All-State Speech nominations.

Coaches Molly Holkesvik, Gabriel Twedt, Carrie Kauffman, Rachel Breitenbach-Dirks, and Lyra McKnight shared, “We are beyond thrilled with these results. We are celebrating this school record; our previous record was thirteen back in 2021.”

They continued, “The talent, hard work, and creative spirit of our students continue to amaze us all. We are thankful for all of the support along the way from our school, families, and community.”

Every All-State nomination–performing and non-performing–are of the same importance and distinction. Students are deemed as performers or non-performers based on the confines of the festival schedule.  The festival will occur on March 27 at the University of Northern Iowa.

The students who received All-State nominations are as follows:



Ada Lovelace: Acting

Brynn Storhoff: Poetry

Corina Timm: Spontaneous Speaking

Diep Doan: Original Oratory

Ella Grouws: Solo Musical Theatre

Elliana Brodbeck: Reviewing

Henry Weis: Storytelling

Jenna Hartz: Original Oratory

Junior Battle: Expository Address

Libby Phillips: Solo Musical Theatre

Margret Zook: Storytelling

Simon Kutz: Radio News Announcing


Davis Coppola: After Dinner Speaking

Ezra Vorvick: Poetry

Jake Magner: Acting

Jensen Korsness: Reviewing

Kathryn Kelly: Poetry



Mikayla Hiner: Solo Musical Theatre

Ind Speech All State
Individual Speech All-State Performers:
Front row (l-r): Elliana Brodbeck: Reviewing, Margret Zook: Storytelling, Corina Timm: Spontaneous Speaking, Jensen Korsness: Reviewing, Kathryn Kelly: Poetry
Middle row (l-r): Mikayla Hiner: Solo Musical Theatre, Ada Lovelace: Acting, Junior Battle: Expository Address, Libby Phillips: Solo Musical Theatre
Back row (l-r): Davis Coppola: After Dinner Speaking, Jake Magner: Acting, Simon Kutz: Radio News Announcing, Brynn Storhoff: Poetry, Henry Weis: Storytelling

Missing from picture: Diep Doan: Original Oratory, Ella Grouws: Solo Musical Theatre, Jenna Hartz: Original Oratory, Ezra Vorvick: Poetry