The National FFA Organization honors FFA members who show the utmost dedication to the organization through their desire to develop their potential for premier leadership, personal growth, and career success through agricultural education. The American FFA Degree is bestowed upon a select group of students in recognition of their years of academic and professional excellence.  Each year less than one percent of the FFA membership receives the American FFA Degree.

Melia Kruse was awarded the American FFA Degree at the 96th National FFA Convention & Expo on November 4. Kruse has been an active member of the Decorah FFA and met the requirements for the highest degree through the FFA. Each recipient of the American FFA Degree will receive a gold American FFA Degree key and certificate.

To be eligible, FFA members must have earned and productively invested $10,000 through a supervised agricultural experience program in which they start, own, or hold a professional position in an existing agricultural enterprise or earned and productively invested $2,000 and worked 2,250 hours in excess of scheduled class time. Recipients must also complete 50 hours community service, demonstrate outstanding leadership abilities and civic involvement, and have a good academic record.

Kruse is the 22nd member of the Decorah FFA who has earned this degree. Other Decorah FFA members who have earned this degree include Aaron Lovstuen, 1996-97; Sam Murray, 1997-98; Jacob Groth, 2000-01; Jeremy Peake, 2000-01; Ryan Holthaus, 2001-02; Kayla Hotvedt, 2003-04; Aric Yaw, 2003-04; Justin Holthaus, 2005-06; Mitch Hemesath, 2006-07; Gabriel Twedt, 2009-10; Dalton Frana, 2011-12; Danielle Fulsaas, 2012-13; Dustin Bigler, 2013-14; Andrew Luzum, 2013-14; Jordan Tietz, 2013-14; Aric Luzum, 2016; Isaac Luzum, 2016; Daiton Tietz, 2017; Hailey Nierling, 2019; Ashley Schwartzhoff, 2019; and Blake Courtney, 2020.

11.4.23 American FFA Degree Melia Kruse Decorah FFA

Melia Kruse of the Decorah FFA received her American FFA Degree at the 96th National FFA Convention in Indianapolis, Indiana.