Twenty-one Decorah FFA members participated at the Northwest Sub-District FFA Leadership Development Events on Monday, February 19, 2024 at Crestwood High School. The chapter competed in nine leadership development events and one quiz contest. 

The chapter advanced in six contests, with five of those contests receiving first place and one contest receiving second place.  Contests receiving first place with a gold rating and advancing to districts include Ag Broadcasting: Kiele Eberling; Ag Sales: Anders Lovstuen; Conduct of Meetings: Gabe Monroe, Brinlee Courtney, Madelynn Dahl, Andrew Carolan, Mara Lovstuen, Hadley Alexander, and Aiden Helgerson; Extemporaneous Speaking: Kamryn Werges; and Job Interview: Creed Monroe.

The chapter parliamentary procedure team received second place with a silver rating and also advanced to districts. Team members include Rylee Averhoff, Jerikah Dodd, Lyla Lovstuen, Annika Schmelzer, and Thea Zidlicky.

The chapter also competed in the following leadership development events: Chapter Program: Travis Nordheim and Eden Scheidel – 3rd place, silver rating, alternate to districts; Creed Speaking: Jackson Irwin – 4th place, gold rating, alternate to districts; and Public Speaking: Braunwyn Darrington – silver rating.

The Decorah FFA had one member participate in the Greenhand Quiz, an FFA knowledge exam. Isabella Schnitzler received second place in the Greenhand Quiz contest.

The Decorah FFA will now compete at the District FFA Convention on Saturday, March 9th at Waukon High School. The convention will begin at 9 a.m., and the public is invited to attend. 

2.19.24 Sub Districts at Cresco Decorah FFA Members

Photo ID:

Front row (l-r): Lyla Lovstuen, Madelynn Dahl, Hadley Alexander, Brinlee Courtney, Andrew Carolan

Second row (l-r): Anders Lovstuen, Braunwyn Darrington, Eden Scheidel, Isabella Schnitzler, Mara Lovstuen, Aiden Helgerson, Kamryn Werges, Kiele Eberling

Third row (l-r): Rylee Averhoff, Jerikah Dodd, Annika Schmelzer, Travis Nordheim, Thea Zidlicky, Jackson Irwin, Creed Monroe, Gabe Monroe