By Morgan Moen, Decorah FFA Reporter

The Decorah FFA will celebrate National FFA Week from February 18 through February 25, 2023. Throughout the week, FFA members, alumni, sponsors, and chapters all over the country will raise awareness about the FFA organization and the daily impact it has on its members. Agricultural education allows FFA members to achieve premier leadership, personal growth, and career success.

“FFA has expanded from just being about agriculture and farming. Our chapter is always looking to pursue more activities and recruit new members. As a chapter, we encourage everyone to engage in FFA week activities,” said president Creed Monroe.

The Decorah FFA Chapter works to create a positive impact on the members’ futures by preparing them with leadership skills, personal growth opportunities, and a successful career.  Members have opportunities to participate in career and leadership development events. This past year, members have competed in various activities and contests including dairy cattle and dairy products evaluation; parliamentary procedure; conduct of meetings; public speaking contests; agronomy; food science; nursery landscaping; ag mechanics; floriculture; livestock judging; record keeping; soil judging; and attending the district, state, and national conventions. The chapter organizes programs all year to help grow leaders, build communities, and strengthen agriculture.

There are currently sixty-two members in the Decorah FFA. The group will have its annual FFA Awards Program on Thursday, March 23, 2023, to celebrate all the year’s accomplishments. The general public is invited to attend. More information can be obtained by contacting any Decorah FFA member or the Decorah FFA advisor Joni Bruvold.

Decorah FFA Chapter 2022 2023 IMG 8884
2022-2023 Decorah FFA Chapter
Row 1 (l-r): Creed Monroe, Brody Courtney, Addison Wemark, Anders Lovstuen, Morgan Moen, Hannah Schnitzler, Kyleigh Batterson
Row 2 (l-r): Karlee Bullerman, Nicholas Farley, Ryan Bigler, Jacob Hageman, Riann Oberbroeckling, Kaylee Larson, Mason Brumm, Lyla Lovstuen, Rashell Lippe, Elora Schnitzler
Row 3 (l-r): Gracie Thompson, Karlie Einck, Annika Brynsaas, Mara Wyatt, Raleigh Lensing, Rachel Mikkelson, Chezny Ryant, Maggie Lovstuen, Brooke Anfinson, Braunwyn Darrington, Rylee Averhoff, Austin Helgerson
Row 4 (l-r): Lauren Holthaus, Ciara Wedmann, Kiele Eberling, Eden Scheidel, Thea Zidlicky, Mitchell Stemper, Kaden Tarwater, Jordan Sims, Cade Averhoff, Annika Schmelzer, Jerikah Dodd, Olivia Wyatt, Jeramiah Rediske, Kamryn Werges
Row 5 (l-r): Camren Darling, Derek Tieskoetter, Kolton Werges, Kaid Headington, Blaine Leidahl, Travis Nordheim, Henry Brynsaas, Carter Schmelzer, Dalton Zidlicky, Justin Nierling, Tommy Sexton, Kayleigh Smith, Caiden Bruns, Christopher Larson, Logan Frye, Jake Teslow, Hunter Quandahl
Absent from photo: Ayden Guevara, Alex Irwin
D0505015 8E5F 45F0 A7A5 37632CFF611F 1 105 c
2022 – 2023 Decorah FFA Officer Team
Row 1 (l-r): Creed Monroe – President, Anders Lovstuen – Treasurer, Brody Courtney – Vice President
Row 2 (l-r): Morgan Moen – Reporter,  Hannah Schnitzler – Sentinel, Addison Wemark – Secretary, Kyleigh Batterson – Assistant
683129CC 29B9 43CF 96BF 74500A734C4E 1 105 c
11th & 12th Grade – Decorah FFA
Row 1 (l-r): Morgan Moen, Anders Lovstuen, Chezny Ryant, Rachel Mikkelson
Row 2 (l-r): Mara Wyatt, Annika Brynssas, Ciara Wedmann, Cade Averhoff, Olivia Wyatt, Kyleigh Batterson
Row 3 (l-r): Jeramiah Rediske, Camren Darling, Brody Courtney, Braunwyn Darrington, Christopher Larson, Brooke Anfinson, Maggie Lovstuen
Row 4 (l-r): Addison Wemark, Kolton Werges, Hannah Schnitzler, Creed Monroe, Travis Nordheim, Carter Schmelzer, Dalton Zidlicky, Justin Nierling, Kayleigh Smith
Absent from photo: Alex Irwin
E0C04370 BEF3 4993 B35E EC4BA6110741 1 105 c
9th & 10th Grade – Decorah FFA
Row 1 (l-r): Nicholas Farley, Ryan Bigler, Jacob Hageman, Kaylee Larson, Mason Brumm, Lyla Lovstuen, Rashell Lippe, Elora Schnitzler
Row 2 (l-r): Karlee Bullerman, Gracie Thompson, Karlie Einck, Raleigh Lensing, Riann Oberbroeckling, Rylee Averhoff, Austin Helgerson
Row 3 (l-r): Kiele Eberling, Lauren Holthaus, Eden Scheidel, Mitchell Stemper, Kaden Tarwater, Jordan Sims, Annika Schmelzer, Jerikah Dodd, Kamryn Werges
Row 4 (l-r): Thea Zidlicky, Derek Tieskoetter, Kaid Headington, Blaine Leidahl, Henry Brynsaas, Tommy Sexton, Caiden Bruns, Logan Frye, Jake Teslow, Hunter Quandahl
Absent from photo: Ayden Guevar